Speech and Hearing BC Policy Statement & Procedures

1.16

AREA: Governance

SUBJECT: Speech and Hearing BC Areas

POLICY:

Speech and Hearing BC has the following areas, each with its own area representative who shall sit on the Area Representatives Committee:

Area	Description
Area 1:	The area north of the 52 nd parallel, including Williams Lake to Alaska,
Northern	Yukon and Northwest Territories border, and from the west coast to
	the Alberta border.
Area 2:	The area south of the 52 nd parallel to the Canadian border and to the
Thompson-Okanagan	east of the 122 nd longitude to the Alberta border, not including Hope
	and Chilliwack. Includes the south, central and north Okanagan, 100
	Mile House, Kamloops, Merritt and Princeton.
Area 3:	Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands.
Vancouver Island	
Area 4:	The area from the Canadian border north to the 52 nd parallel and from
Greater Vancouver	the west coastline east to the Lower Arm of the Fraser River.
	Richmond, Burnaby, North Vancouver, West Vancouver, Pitt Meadows,
	Coquitlam, Sechelt, Powell River, Whistler, This area <i>excludes</i> Delta,
	Ladner, Langley, North Delta, Surrey, Tsawwassen and White Rock.
Area 5:	The area east to the Alberta border, south to the United States border,
Kootenay	north to Roger's Pass, and west half way between Rock Creek and
	Midway to Monashee Summit up to Galena Bay Ferry (Arrow Lake).
	Includes Nelson, Trail, Castlegar, Golden, Invermere, Kimberley,
	Cranbrook, Fernie and Sparwood
Area 6;	The area from the Canadian border north of the 52 nd parallel and from
Fraser Valley	the west of the Lower Arm of the Fraser River to the 122 nd longitude.
	This area includes Abbotsford, Agassiz, Chilliwack, Delta, Fort Langley,
	Harrison, Hope, Ladner, Langley, Maple Ridge, Mission, North Delta,
	Pitt Meadows, Rosedale, Surrey Tsawwassen, and White Rock.

PROCEDURE:

The procedure for creating a new area is defined in Policy 1.16.1: Speech and Hearing BC Area Representation