

Award Recipients

Award in Recognition of Service

This award is presented to members whose special efforts and contributions, through volunteer services of Speech and Hearing BC and related organizations, have contributed to the growth of the professions of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.

2023 Pam Waterhouse

2020 Sherri Zelazny

2017 Nicky Waite; Kate Wishart

2014 Advocacy Committee: Margaret Anderson, Nathan Hoffart, Sarah Frumento and

Kate Wishart

2014 Barbara Burnet

2012 Jennifer Moll

2011 Lisa Avery

2010 Mark Hansen

2009 College Working Group

2008 Linda Rammage

2007 Margaret Orme

2006 SLP PPIG

2005 Laurie Usher

2001 Michelle Smits

1999 Dorothy Fairholm

1998 Lisa Prokopowich

1997 Susan Batstone Dorothy Fairholm Brent McNeill

1989 Ingrid Jeffrey Vickie Rothstein

1988 Christy Faraher-Amidon

Honours of the Association

Awarded to Speech and Hearing BC members who have made outstanding contributions to Speech-Language Pathology and/or Audiology in education, research, organizational services, administration, and other areas deemed appropriate.

2023 Charlotte Greville

2018 Gail Trotman

2017 Gillian Parker

2016 Shelagh Davies

2015 Sheryl Palm Megan Sutton

2013 Wendy Duke Rosemary Park

2012 Ann Marie Newroth

2010 Jeff Riley

2009 Susan Lane

2008 Meena Paranjipe

2007 Kristine Larsen

2005 Beth Thompson

2004 Sue Wastie

2003 Sipke Pijl

2001 Mardi Lowe-Heistad

2000 Noelle Lamb

1998 Dr. Judith Johnston

1997 Monica Brekelmans Christine Harrison Noelle Lamb

1991 Margaret Roberts

1990 Jo Nussbaum

1989 Claudia MacMillan

1988 John Gilbert

1987 Elaine Clemons Patience Towler

Distinguished Service Award

This award is presented to individuals who are not Speech-Language Pathologists or Audiologists, but who have made outstanding contributions to the professions and/or the communities they serve.

2016 Deborah Pugh

2015 Dr. Pat Mirenda

2012 Judy Chrastina

2011 Arlene Zuckernick

2006 B. May Bernhardt Pam Collins

2005 Anthony Intas

2003 Lois Pijl Helen Overnes

2002 Mia Austinson

2000 Michelle Droettboom YuHeng & Joyce Chiao Family

1999 Marilyn Dahl

1997 Dr. Charles Laszlo

1986 Mary McCuaig

Speech Language Pathologist of the Year

Given to individual members or teams who have been nominated by clients and/or client families and who are members of Speech and Hearing BC/CSHHPBC. This award will be presented to an individual or group that has contributed to the growth of the professions of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology exemplifying the vision or mission of the professions for client outcomes and care.

2023 Amanda Locke & Susan Edwards

2018 Anita Ebenezer

2019 Kathy Yoshida

Audiologist of the Year

Given to individual members or teams who have been nominated by clients and/or client families and who are members of Speech and Hearing BC/CSHHPBC. This award will be presented to an individual or group that has contributed to the growth of the professions of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology exemplifying the vision or mission of the professions for client outcomes and care.

2018 Sandra Baker 2019 Tina Saiki